Comfort Foods: Remade Healthy

It seems I focus my attention on one object at a time, and having some slight ADD issues this one objective is always changing! My new focus for the time being is to change my eating habits by making them just slightly healthier. I always joke with people and say I have an eating disorder- I can’t stop eating! I rarely feel full and I am in love with comfort food. Unfortunately after I stopped breast feeding, even with the extra exercise, I am not able to burn enough calories to continue eating the way I am. I have gained 20 pounds, eek!

The hardest part of a diet is sticking with it, and I’m not sure I would call this a diet as it is more a life style change. I already switched all pasta to whole wheat (years ago) and we switched out iceburg lettuce for spring leaf salads. We eat at least one additional vegatable at dinner besides the ones in the main entree. So how do I make that entree more healthy without costing flavor? If I cut out flavor this will not work, I am on the search for something that tastes amazing but is a smidging better.

Please feel free to post any recipes or ideas you have. I will try to update this each time I find a new way to make my comfort food slightly more healthy.

I’ll start you out with one I’ve already tried – macaroni and cheese! I kind of wing things so when I have measurements I will update it and probably post it up under recipes. Definitely a keeper. The great thing about this recipe is you can change it up. Use reg sharp cheddar and mix in peas and carrots, with a layer of broccoli.

Comfort Food: Macaroni and Cheese      
         
Description: My children love this more than any other version of home made macaroni I’ve made. It also comes out very beautiful when placed on the plate. 
 
 
         
Ingredients: Low-Fat/Skim Milk      
  Flour      
  Low-Fat Sharp White Cheddar Cheese (shredded)  
  Pepper      
  Garlic Powder      
  Italian Seasoning      
         
  Spinach       
  Mushrooms (sliced)      
  Tomatoes (sliced)      
  Whole Wheat Elbow Noodles      
  Bread Crumbs      
  Olive Oil      
         
Cook elbow noodles until el dente or not quite fully cooked (about 4-5 minutes). Spray nonstick spray on casserole dish.  Make sauce by heating milk until steaming (not boiling), slowly add flour for about 3 minutes until thickened. Add seasonings as preferred; salt, pepper, garlic, italian herbs. Remove from heat and slowly stir in shredded cheese. Mix noodles into sauce. Pour 1/2 of the noodles and sauce into casserole dish. Add spinach, sprinkle with shredded cheese, add mushrooms sprinkle with cheese. Top with remaining noodles and sauce, sprinkle with remaining cheese. Add sliced tomatoes to cover entire top of the dish. Spinkle breadcrumbs mixed in olive oil on top of tomatoes. Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes. Let cool for 5 minutes before eating. 
Leave a Reply

